Tram Car 1220 is located in the heart of Steveston Village and offers unique programs and special events thoughout the year.
Built in 1913 by the St Louis Car Company the 1220 was brought to the Lower Mainland with 27 other cars and contributed to the development of Richmond’s city centre. The Interurbans and the people who worked on them became an important and cherished part of the community.
The Interurbans did not survive the post-war prosperity that led to an explosion in the number of automobiles on the roads and an expansion of new suburbs not serviced by rail. On February 28, 1958, the final Interurban tramcar rolled the rails between Marpole and Steveston, marking the end of a definitive era for the Richmond community and for transportation history in BC.
As of today, there are only 7 BCER operated interurban trams left. Of the 28 original 1200 class tramcars from St Louis, five survive today including Car 1220 in Steveston.